Car, Home, Toys, and Life Insurance Resource Center

Welcome to the best Michigan insurance resource! Michigan has the most unique insurance laws in the United States. Learn about what it takes to be insured properly as a Michigander. Get saving tips, mandatory coverage amounts, and answers to many frequently asked questions.

Insurance Where You Live


27
Aug 14

Michigan Drinking and Driving Laws

To say that the laws regarding drinking and driving in Michigan are tough is an understatement. They are among the toughest in the nation. If you have plans to go out and have a good time and ingest alcohol, it is best to make plans to get home safely. To attempt driving home, or from place to place while intoxicated can jeopardize your freedom, income and driving privileges. This is not to mention that you are placing yourself and others at risk of a serious or deadly crash.

There are those that feel the government is too intrusive, but there are times that it needs to step in and make sure that we are making the best decisions for ourselves, as well as the public at large. It is a crime in the state of Michigan to be operating a motor vehicle with blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08. Having a BAC of 0.17 or higher means getting even more enhanced, or harsher penalties. The fact is you can be arrested by exhibiting any level of impairment regardless of your actual BAC.

Being under the influence of a schedule 1 narcotic such as marijuana, heroin, GHB and others draw the same fines and penalties no matter whether you appear impaired or not.

First DUI Offense

Your best chance at getting life back to normal is if this is your first offense. If you follow all of the stipulations and pay all fines you will eventually get your license back. The penalties for under 0.17 BAC can be:

  • Up to $500 dollars in fines
  • Up to 93 days in jail
  • Up to 360 community service hours
  • Up to 6 months driver’s license suspension
  • 6 points off your driver’s license

Over 0.17 BAC:

  • Up to $700 dollars in fines
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Up to 360 community service hours
  • Up to 1 year of driver’s license suspension
  • 6 point off the driver’s license

You will also be expected to complete an alcohol treatment program and use an interlock system for your ignition after 45 days of license suspension. This will allow you the use of a restricted driver’s license. You are responsible for the costs of this equipment.

Refusing to take the breath test doesn’t make things any easier for you. A first refusal earns you an automatic 1 year driver’s license suspension. A second refusal in 7 years earns you a 2 year driver’s license suspension. A drunken driving conviction can also cost you up to $2,000 dollars in additional penalties. You can incur $1,000 dollar costs each year for two years to be paid under the Driver Responsibility Act. It can be a very costly conviction.

The Better Choice

All of these laws and consequences are not designed to keep you from having fun, but to help you make better choices when it comes to drinking and driving. You simply shouldn’t get behind the wheel if you have ingested any amount of alcoholic beverages. Keep your partying at one location, or designate a non-drinker to be the one to transport everyone safely.

Call a taxi for a ride home or make plans to stay overnight at the location of the party. You should do the same if you are hosting a party. Do not let anyone leave with the intent of driving home if they have been drinking. You could very well be saving the lives of your friends and others. You most certainly are saving them a possible driving while intoxicated charge.

Laws and regulations change periodically. We do our best to provide the most up to date information.

Quick Links

How to Get a Home Insurance Quote MI Helmet Laws Moving to Michigan and Car Insurance

27
Jul 14

How to Get Insurance Without a License in Michigan

Getting car insurance without a driver’s license in Michigan might seem impossible. Getting your insurance license suspended or revoked is a difficult time. You’re always needing someone to drive you somewhere. Your car is ready to go, but your insurance dropped you because of your suspended license. Many agents may be sending you away, maybe they are even telling you it is impossible. Well, I’m here to tell you with a little persistence it is possible.

Start by approaching the right insurance companies.

No License, No ProblemIf your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked, you are a high risk driver. Insurance carriers are concerned that even though you are not supposed to be driving, you will anyways and they will be stuck covering any losses you incur. You need to look for an insurance carrier who specializes in high risk auto insurance.

Popular High-Risk Insurance Carriers in Michigan(in no specific order)

Other carriers handle high risk insurance too. Some preferred carriers like State Farm offer high risk insurance coverage too. Calling an agent who only handles high risk auto policies is going to make things easier for you. They will be very familiar with your situation and will want your business. One of the problems high risk drivers face, is that preferred insurance agents are looking for preferred drivers and often do not want to handle policies involving high risk drivers.

So, How Does It Work?

Even though you are looking to insure your car, does not mean you are going to be allowed to drive it. Obviously with a suspended or revoked license you are not allowed to drive. An insurance carrier is going to protect itself by requiring you to be an excluded driver. Excluded drivers are not covered even if they choose to drive.

Example: An excluded driver chooses to drive in an emergency situation. While driving another vehicle rear-ends the excluded driver’s vehicle. The excluded driver’s auto insurance policy will not payout any damages, even though the accident was not his fault. The policy is basically void because he was not covered under the policy.

Ok, so if you are not driving your vehicle who is? In order to get a car insurance policy, you will need a licensed driver listed on the policy. Usually a blood relative or spouse would be the first choice, someone living in your household would be the next option. You would be listed as the named insured and excluded as a driver. The primary driver would be listed as a driver on your car insurance policy.

No luck finding an agency who allows being a named insured and excluded driver? Try finding an insurance carrier who will allow your primary driver to insure your vehicle in their name. Many insurance carriers only allow the person on the title to purchase an insurance policy. However, some carriers do not make it a requirement. That is another reason to stick with insurance agents who specialize in high risk insurance. Many high risk agents are independent agents, which means they sell several different insurance carriers and will have one that will work for you.

Tried both option one and two and you’re still having problems? Last resort, title your vehicle over to the person you trust the most. They can insure it and title it back over to you once you get your license status in order.

Don’t let a couple of agents turning you away get you down. Keep looking and I’m confident you will find the coverage you need. Keeping your vehicle insured is the responsible thing to do. You do not want to add more violations like driving without insurance to your record. Remember to always be honest with your insurance agent. You really can’t hide a suspended or revoked license anyways. Lying to try and get a cheaper rate will most likely end in your claim not being paid out. Be honest about your situation, and get the policy you need to be legal and truly covered.

Further Reading